top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Rose Van Alstyne

Let's Be Still

Movement, for me, has a deep history of self-punishment. Whether it be a severe addiction to running, dancing with no fuel, hiking for hours on end... it would end in self-deprecation.

I haven't used the gym for about 2 weeks. And I haven't keeled over on the brink of death.


Amazing.


I feel as if I am writing new rules for myself. I may feel the pressure to look a certain way when I sense the male gaze upon me, or the perverted validation I feel when I am 'desired' by others, or admired for such 'self-discipline' ... but it's fake. It's fake because I am still relying on a system of abusive objectification of the body in order to feel satisfied. It's fake because i's not my own happiness: it's conditioned happiness.


It's conditioned happiness that I witness countless other women living by each and every day. Chisled arms, unnaturally concave stomaches and legs that don't touch are simply evidence to me of people trying desperately to live in a world that isn't theirs: objectification of the body attached with a sense of self-worth isn't the world I want to live in anymore.


Just for a moment, let's be still.


Amidst this world of endless chaos, let's be still.


I am going to be still until I can create the world I want to live in: one in which my productivity level and sculpt of my body doesn't define how I see myself.




Because sparkle has no size or shape. It just shimmers.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Little Blu Light

“We don’t rise to the level of our goals, we fall to the level of our systems.” It was when I was pulling weeds at Abalone Cove for Palos...

Today's Bike Ride

Today’s bike ride was slightly different. After a long while of not listening to my Inner Being, her gentle questions & innocent desires...

1 Comment


pegster324
Mar 26, 2020

Sparkle on , Sunshine!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page