top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Rose Van Alstyne

Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand Six-Hundred Minutes


Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes.


One year.


One year since I graduated the residential treatment center that saved my life.


One year since I took the human wreckage that was my body and entwined it with my soul.


One year since acknowledging that falling five-below rock bottom is the best sewing ground for new life.


Here I stand, progressing in my new life each and every day. With my feet on the ground and my head held high, knowing that each day fighting for myself and battling the eating disorder is me winning. Not for any reward or trophy - but me winning my life back.


It is not a coincidence that today I received a full-time job offer with Grassroots Los Angeles, partnered with Amnesty International. I will spend my time canvassing for refugee and animal rights worldwide in a political climate that has made these issues more pertinent than ever before. Now that I have fought for myself, I can fight for others.

Here's to five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred more.


"I wrestled by the sea A loneliness in me I asked myself for peace And found it at my feet Staring at the sea."

-Future Islands

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Little Blu Light

“We don’t rise to the level of our goals, we fall to the level of our systems.” It was when I was pulling weeds at Abalone Cove for Palos...

Today's Bike Ride

Today’s bike ride was slightly different. After a long while of not listening to my Inner Being, her gentle questions & innocent desires...

1 Comment


pegster324
Mar 26, 2020

Keep the faith!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page